Earth Sky Time

In the garden and beyond

My first rose

Leave a comment

be21d3

‘Eiffel Tower’

 

I found my first rose languishing in the marked down section of a grocery store packed in a cardboard box that was crushed on one side. Tender green shoots were growing out from the edges in a futile effort to find sunlight.

Thinking that beat up rose deserved a better fate, I paid the sale price of three dollars, took it home and planted it in my garden that very afternoon. I couldn’t wait to get it out of that box.

It quickly made up for its stifled beginnings and transformed into a shrub studded with classic, pointed buds that slowly unfurled in a magnificent shade of fuchsia pink.

I had absolutely no clue that I had chosen a rose of great merit. I did some research and learned that ‘Eiffel Tower’ won two gold medals the year it was introduced (1963). 

More on this fragrant hybrid tea rose in my next post.

Leave a Reply

